Reinassance Adventure Featured Trip

  • Indoor Beginner Kayaking Series (Lessons #1-3)
  • Learn to roll when snow is on the ground or during the evening when you have the...View details and dates >>
  • Open Pool
  • Practicing on your own or with a friend is a great way to retain what you have l...View details and dates >>

Reinassance Adventure On Facebook

Read the latest articles

Lesson 1 Introduction to Kayaking

Price: $125/person
Age Requirement: 12 and up
Prerequisites:
Able to have fun

Call 303.988.2943 or
Chatfield Reservoir

First things first, this is where we teach you the basic skills that create the foundation for the rest of your paddling career. The setting is calm flat water of the scenic Chatfield Reservoir looking out at the beautiful Front Range. We emphasize safe practices using whitewater kayaking equipment and teach you how to use it comfortably. At the end of this class you will be familiar and competent with basic paddling skills and equipment and ready for the classes on the Colorado River.

Lessons run rain or shine, so check out our recommended gear list for suggestions on what to bring to be prepared.

Location, Dates, and Times:

Fridays or Saturdays

Chatfield Reservoir, Chatfield State Park, Littleton, CO 

Fridays Saturdays
Friday, June 2, 2017
Friday, June 9, 2017
Friday, June 16, 2017 Saturday, June 3, 2017
Thursday, June 23, 2016 Saturday, June 10, 2017
Friday, June 30, 2017 Saturday, June 17, 2017
Friday, July 7, 2017 Saturday, June 24, 2017
Friday, July 14, 2017 Saturday, July 1, 2017
Friday, July 21, 2017 Saturday, July 8, 2017
Friday, July 28, 2017 Saturday, July 15, 2017
Friday, August 4, 2017 Saturday, July 22, 2017
Friday, August 11, 2017 Saturday, July 29, 2017
Friday, August 18, 2017 Saturday, August 5, 2017
Friday, August 25, 2017 Saturday, August 12, 2017
Friday, September 1, 2017 Saturday, August 19, 2017
Friday, September 8, 2017 Saturday, August 26, 2017
Friday, September 15, 2017 Saturday, September 2, 2017
Friday, September 22, 2017 Saturday, September 9, 2017
  Saturday, September 16, 2017
  Saturday, September 23, 2017

 

Classes with fewer than 3 individuals will be rescheduled to another day.

 

Introduction kayaking

- Start time 9:00 am
- Introductions & Logistics
- Equipment
- The Wet Exit
- Fundamentals
- Strokes (Sweep, forward and stern draw)
- Maneuvering
- Hip-Snaps
- Lunch around noon
- Bow Rescues
- Bracing
- Introduction to rolling
- Wrap up
- End Time may vary around 3:00 pm

 

What to bring:
- Lots of water
- Waterproof Sunscreen
- Something to get wet in (swimsuit)
- Lunch and Snacks
- Warm dry clothing for when you are off the water

Additional recommended items:
- Fleece or other synthetic clothing (not containing cotton) that can be worn under a wetsuit
- Kayak noseplugs (with a strap)
- A hat
- Sunglasses with retention strap (Croakies, etc.)
- Wetsuit booties or river sandals (must stay on when you swim)

This lesson includes all the kayaking gear you will need including a boat, paddle, skirt, PFD, helmet, splash jacket, wetsuit and booties.   If you have your own equipment, we encourage you to bring it since it is most likely what you will be using outside of this lesson.

 
 

Chatfield State Park

Open Directions (Google Maps)

Entering the park from Wadsworth Blvd.:

After leaving the gate house off of take a right at the first stop sign.  Follow the main road about 1.8 miles south. You will pass a road on your right that goes to the horse stables.  The road will curve to the left and you will see the gravel pond on your right.  Take the next right turn on to a dirt road and follow it to a large parking lot. Class meets next to the large pond on the right.

Entering the park from N. Roxborough Park Rd.: 

After leaving the gate follow the main road for about 2.2 miles. You go past a campground and go over a river. After you cross the bridge make a left turn on to a dirt road and  follow it to a large parking lot. Class meets next to the large pond on the right.

The reservoir has a gate fee of: $8.00 or have a Season Pass. This class begins at 9am.

Renaissance Adventure Guides is an equal opportunity service provider.

Renaissance Adventure Guides operates under special use permits from the White River National Forest.

All or part of this operation is conducted on Public Lands under special permit from the U.S. Bureau of Land Management.

About Renaissance Adventure Guides
Renaissance Adventure Guides
303.988.2943

Denver, Colorado 80209 USA

© 2011 Renaissance Adventure Guides

Website design Denver by CreativeXchange Marketing