Reinassance Adventure Featured Trip

Error parsing XSLT file: \xslt\FeaturedTrips.xslt

Reinassance Adventure On Facebook

Read the latest articles

Lesson 1 Introduction to Kayaking

Price: $139/person
Age Requirement: 12 and up
Prerequisites:
Able to have fun

Call 303.988.2943 or
Chatfield Reservoir
Boulder Reservoir

First things first, this is where we teach you the basic skills that create the foundation for the rest of your paddling career. The setting is calm flat water of the scenic Boulder or Chatfield Reservoir looking out at the beautiful Colorado Rocky Mountains. We emphasize safe practices using whitewater kayaking equipment and teach you how to use it comfortably. At the end of this class you will be familiar and competent with basic paddling skills and equipment.

Lessons run rain or shine, so check out our recommended gear list for suggestions on what to bring to be prepared.

Location, Dates, and Times:

Chatfield Reservoir, Chatfield State Park, Littleton, CO

Chatfield Reservoir - Day 1, Fridays:   Start Time: End Time:
Friday, June 06, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Friday, June 20, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Friday, July 11, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Friday, August 01, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Friday, September 19, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM

 

Chatfield Reservoir - Day 1, Saturdays:   Start Time: End Time:
 
Saturday, May 31, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, June 07, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, June 14, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, June 21, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, June 28, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, July 05, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, July 12, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, July 19, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, July 26, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, August 02, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, August 09, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, August 16, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, August 23, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, August 30, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, September 06, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, September 13, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Saturday, September 20, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM

 

Boulder Reservoir, Boulder, CO

Boulder Reservoir  - Day 1, Fridays:   Start Time: End Time:
Friday, August 15, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM

 

Boulder Reservoir - Day 1, Sundays:   Start Time: End Time:
Sunday, May 25, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Sunday, June 8, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Sunday, June 22, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Sunday, July 6, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Sunday, August 10, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Sunday, August 17, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Sunday, August 24, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM
Sunday, August 31, 2014   9:00 AM 3:00 PM

 

Classes with fewer than 3 individuals will be rescheduled to another day.

 

Introduction kayaking

- Start time 9:00 am
- Introductions & Logistics
- Equipment
- The Wet Exit
- Fundamentals
- Strokes (Sweep, forward and stern draw)
- Maneuvering
- Hip-Snaps
- Lunch around noon
- Bow Rescues
- Bracing
- Introduction to rolling
- Wrap up
- End Time may vary around 3:00 pm

 

What to bring:
- Lots of water
- Waterproof Sunscreen
- Something to get wet in (swimsuit)
- Lunch and Snacks
- Warm dry clothing for when you are off the water

Additional recommended items:
- Fleece or other synthetic clothing (not containing cotton) that can be worn under a wetsuit
- Kayak noseplugs (with a strap)
- A hat
- Sunglasses with retention strap (Croakies, etc.)
- Wetsuit booties or river sandals (must stay on when you swim)

This lesson includes all the kayaking gear you will need including a boat, paddle, skirt, PFD, helmet, splash jacket, wetsuit and booties.   If you have your own equipment, we encourage you to bring it since it is most likely what you will be using outside of this lesson.

 
 

Chatfield State Park

Entering the park from Wadsworth Blvd.:

After leaving the gate house off of take a right at the first stop sign.  Follow the main road about 1.8 miles south. You will pass a road on your right that goes to the horse stables.  The road will curve to the left and you will see the gravel pond on your right.  Take the next right turn on to a dirt road and follow it to a large parking lot. Class meets next to the large pond on the right.

Entering the park from N. Roxborough Park Rd.: 

After leaving the gate follow the main road for about 2.2 miles. You go past a campground and go over a river. After you cross the bridge make a left turn on to a dirt road and  follow it to a large parking lot. Class meets next to the large pond on the right.

The reservoir has a gate fee of: $8.00 or have a Season Pass. This class begins at 9am.

Boulder Reservoir

Classes meet at Hobie Haven, just past the swimming area and just before the first boat ramp. The reservoir has a gate fee of: Youth (3-18) $3.75, Adult (19-59) $6.25, Senior (60+) $4.25 or have a Season Pass.

Renaissance Adventure Guides is an equal opportunity service provider.

Renaissance Adventure Guides operates under special use permits from the White River National Forest.

All or part of this operation is conducted on Public Lands under special permit from the U.S. Bureau of Land Management.

About Renaissance Adventure Guides
Renaissance Adventure Guides
303.988.2943

Denver, Colorado 80209 USA

© 2011 Renaissance Adventure Guides

Website design Denver by CreativeXchange Marketing